Skip to content
August 29, 2014 / bonniesavage

New York On Film

Here are some images I shot on a Diana plastic camera in New York that I have just had developed.

Streets of New York, QuestloveLiquor Store in New YorkThe streets of New YorkCentral parkNew York Street Art

I spent all of my university degree and nearly all my assisting days shooting on various formats of film cameras.

While shooting on a plastic camera is really nothing like a proper film camera with aperture and shutter speed control, I still really loved the spontaneity of not being able to instantly see every frame that I took. I also loved film’s restriction of only shooting one or two frames at a time – rather than a million frames as sometimes happens when shooting digital.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lignum Draco / Aug 29 2014 5:53 pm

    Nice photos. I bought an Olympus trip 35 for a similar reason, Interestingly the store I went to is a Lomo stockist but deliberately steered me away from them.

    • bonniesavage / Aug 29 2014 5:56 pm

      Hey, They weren’t into the Diana camera or the Olympus camera at the shop? They say why?

      • Lignum Draco / Aug 29 2014 6:06 pm

        I went in to buy a Diana, Konstruktor or similar but the assistant warned me about light leaks and metering inconsistencies. They had a few Olympus trip 35’s and said they were better. Simple to use so I bought it.

  2. bonniesavage / Aug 29 2014 6:17 pm

    Ok, cool.
    Yeah the results are anything but consistent! You have some of your Olympus work online?

  3. Lignum Draco / Aug 29 2014 7:57 pm

    Some but not much. I mainly put my digital camera street work on the blog.
    But if you’re interested go to my drop down menu and under categories you will see “film etcetera” – a couple of trip 35 and hasselblad xpan photos.

Leave a Reply

