Skip to content
October 14, 2013 / bonniesavage

Building a folio

It’s been a busy year for me here at BSP and I’m well overdue for a folio update. This is always a difficult task as I often find that I am attached to certain images and am desperate to put them in my book but sometimes they just don’t fit. So I spend many days deliberating over it and having conversations both with myself and others on what should stay in and what should go.

The first step for me is to get small prints of everything that I feel might make it into my new folio and lay them out on the floor so I can see it all together.

Bonnie_Savage_folio_4

Then I try to look at which images stand out as being the strongest, most interesting and appropriate, and also which images I feel will best fit together. The connection between the images could be anything from their mood, subject matter, texture, or colour. At this stage I start organising them into groups and eventually line them up into some kind of connected order.

Bonnie_Savage_folio_3

Then I think about it for probably far too long!

I love having a printed folio to accompany my website as a marketing tool. In my opinion, people spend so much of their day stuck in front of a computer (like you and me right now) that it’s nice to have the opportunity to look at prints and to actually have a conversation instead of always communicating online or on the phone. I will never stop producing a printed folio…

Bonnie Savage looking at her print organising the new folio

Leave a Reply

